Militant Groups Call For Division Of Nigeria Into Five Republics

The call for secession took another turn as a Niger Delta group called for the division of the country into five distinct republics.

The group, the Reformed Egbesu Assembly, a coalition of Niger Delta militant groups, said the divided units would be known as the United Republics of Nigeria.

According to them, the units would be called the Arewa Islamic Republic, Biafra Republic, Republic of Niger Delta, Middle Belt Republic and the Oduduwa Republic.

These are contained in a statement by a representative of the coalition, Tony Alagbakereowei.

He said, “We reaffirm our collective resolve to actualise the Republic of the Niger Delta, RONDEL, which had been proclaimed in 1966 taking into cognisance the reality that there is nothing yet binding us as a people rather than the crude oil and gas in the Niger Delta.

“We call on the British Prime Minister, President Donald Trump of the United States and the United Nations, UN, to conduct a referendum for the peaceful dissolution of the Nigerian states into Arewa Islamic Republic, Biafra Republic, Oduduwa Republic, Republic of the Niger Delta,RONDEL, and the Republic of the Middle Belt to be collectively known and addressed as the United Republics of Nigeria based on the principles of non-exodus and non-violence.

“We strongly restate our commitment and dedication to this model as it is the irreducible minimum acceptable political requirement for the ethnic nationalities of the Niger Delta to remain in the Nigerian state.

“We consider this as the best option to avoid the impending humanitarian crisis of a full-blown Nigeria civil war and armed revolution which will be foisted upon the African Continent and the world at large.”

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!